SPR Members in the Spotlight

SPR Member Award Recipients for 2015
Awards will be presented at the 2015 PAS Annual Meeting in San Diego, CA

  • Steven Abman, MD, Children's Hospital Colorado, University of Colorado Aurora CO has been named the Maureen Andrew Mentor Awardee. Read more
  • Waldemar A. Carlo, MD, University of Alabama at Birmingham Birmingham, AL, has been named the Douglas K. Richardson Awardee. Read more
  • Aaron Friedman, MD, has been named the recipient of the ASPN Founders Award. Read more
  • Catherine Gordon, MD, Director, APS/SPR Student Research Program Hasbro Children's Hospital and Brown University, Providence, RI has been named the Thomas Hazinski Distinguised Service Awardee. Read more
  • Neal Halsey, MD, has been named the recipient of the PIDS Stanley A. Plotkin Lecture in Vaccinology.
  • Ophir David Klein, MD, Hillblom Distinguished Professor in Craniofacial Anomalies, Chair, Division of Craniofacial Anomalies, Medical Director, Craniofacial Center, Director, Program in Craniofacial Biology, University of California, San Francisco, has been awarded the E. Mead Johnson Award. Read more
  • Mark Kline, MD, has been named the recipient of the Programme for Glopbal Paediatric Research Award for Outstanding Contributions to Global Child Health. . Read more
  • Linda M. McAllister-Lucas, MD, has been named the 2015 Norman J. Siegel New Member Outstanding Science Award recipient. Read more
  • Alan Rogol, MD, has been named the recipient of the PES Judson J. Van Wyk Prize. Read more
  • Samir Shah, MD, has been named the APA Miller Sarkin Mentoring Award.
  • Jeffrey A. Whitsett, MD, has been named the 2015 Mary Ellen Avery Neonatal Research Awardee. Read more
  • Barry S. Zuckerman, MD, has been named the 2015 recipient of the Joseph W. St. Geme, Jr. Leadership Award. Read more

SPR Members Elected to the Institute of Medicine

Below is a list of SPR members who were recently elected to the Institute of Medicine (IOM). Read IOM press release.

  • James E. Crowe Jr., M.D., SPR, AAI, ASCI - director, Vanderbilt Vaccine Center, and Ann Scott Carell Chair Professor, departments of pediatrics, pathology, microbiology, and immunology, Vanderbilt University Medical Center, Nashville, Tennessee
  • Pamela B. Davis, M.D., Ph.D., SPR, AFMR, APS - dean and senior vice president for medical affairs, Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland
  • Todd R. Golub, M.D., SPR, ASCI - investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute; chief scientific officer, Broad Institute of Harvard and MIT; and Charles A. Dana Investigator, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Cambridge, Massachusetts
  • Deepak Srivastava, M.D., SPR, ASCI - director, Gladstone Institute of Cardiovascular Disease, and professor, University of California, San Francisco