Pledge to the Foundation | Contact Us |
Login to MY APS-SPR Email: 
Forgot password?

Funding Opportunities


Request for Proposals: A Systems Biology Approach to Pregnancy and Prematurity | DEADLINE: December 1, 2014

The Global Alliance to Prevent Prematurity and Stillbirth (GAPPS) is now accepting letters of inquiry for a new round of grants as part of its Preventing Preterm Birth initiative (PPB).

GAPPS seeks projects that discover and characterize longitudinal changes associated with normal and abnormal pregnancy and develop biomarkers to identify at-risk pregnancies through rigorous analysis of underlying biological mechanisms that lead to preterm birth, focusing on the role of high dimensional systems biology and its applications in pregnancy.

More information can be found at:

$100,000 Taubman Prize For Excellence in Translational Medical Science | DEADLINE: February 1, 2015

This award is presented annually by the A. Alfred Taubman Medical Research Institute at the University of Michigan. It is meant to recognize work in the crucial field of translational research being conducted by the clinician-scientist who has done the most to transform laboratory discoveries into clinical applications for patients suffering from disease.

Nomination guidelines and forms can be found at:

If you are aware of a funding opportunity open to pediatrics, please contact


Deadline Passed

International Collaborative Award for Research (ICAR) - (2) Awards at $25,000 | DEADLINE: August 1, 2014

Collaborative interdisciplinary research has allowed for an expanded viewpoint in biomedical research. With increased globalization, colleagues across the continents can interact to address a research problem thereby improving the research quality and adding diverse perspectives. The International Pediatric Research Foundation (IPRF) will therefore solicit applications for an International Collaborative Research Program to foster research efforts between two or more institutions from different continents that allow for synergy and complement of the research effort.

IPRF Early Investigators' Exchange Program - (2) Awards at $20,000 | DEADLINE: September 1, 2014

The Early Investigators’ Exchange Program is funded by the International Pediatric Research Foundation to promote basic, clinical, and translational research directed to the prevention, causes, and treatment of pediatric diseases. The program promotes pediatric research through short-term, international research exchanges (<12 months) for investigators in the early phase of their career. The program encourages research groups to share methodology and content expertise and promote international collaboration. The funding limit is $20,000 USD and the deadline for applications is September 1st 2014. One to two grant proposals are funded each year.

Pediatric Research Best Paper Travel Award - (2) Awards at $2,500 each | DEADLINE: April 1, 2014

(Printable Copy)

The International Pediatric Research Foundation invites nominations for a Best Paper Travel Award for papers in PEDIATRIC RESEARCH. The award will support two young investigators' participation in an upcoming annual PAS or ESPR meeting with a reimbursable amount of up to $2,500 for travel-related expenses for the meeting.

There are TWO pathways to nominate a Best Paper junior author.

  • Senior authors may nominate junior first authors and their papers published in PEDIATRIC RESEARCH during the past calendar year.
  • or
  • Members of APS/SPR/ESPR may nominate the junior author on a particularly stellar article in PEDIATRIC RESEARCH that was published in the past calendar year. If you are a member of the organization(s) and would like to nominate a junior author, please contact the Editorial Office for specific information regarding the article at

A "junior author" is defined as an early career investigator with less than 5 published papers. The deadline for nominations is April 1, 2014.

An international jury will select the two best nominations and make a recommendation to the IPRF council. Papers will be judged on the basis of (1) novelty, (2) expected impact, and (3) clarity of presentation. Decisions will be made by mid-April 2014, allowing the two winners to attend an upcoming PAS or ESPR meeting.

For specific information about nomination requirements, please contact the Editorial Office at