E. Mead Johnson Awards for Research in Pediatrics

Back to SPR Awardees Menu

Given since 1939, this award honors clinical and laboratory research achievements. Research must be related to pediatrics and published recently, perhaps coming to fruition or attaining recognition during the past few years. Two awards will be presented during the Pediatric Academic Societies' Annual Meeting. Supported by Mead Johnson Nutrition

Jordan S. Orange MD, PhD
Professor of Pediatrics, Chief of Immunology, Allergy and Rheumatology, Vice Chair of Research, Department of Pediatrics, Baylor College of Medicine, Director, Center for Human Immunobiology, Texas Children's Hospital, Houston, TX

Jordan Orange is a Professor in the Department of Pediatrics at Baylor College of Medicine and Texas Children's Hospital, where he serves as the Director of the Center for Human Immunobiology and the Vice Chair for Research. Jordan's research has focused on the fundamental cell biology of intercellular immune interactions, novel causes of immune diseases as well as mechanistic insights gained from genetic immunodeficiency. His laboratory has defined sequential mechanical cellular steps following the recognition of diseased cells that regulate and enable immune-based cytotoxicity. Jordan's group has also participated in gene discovery efforts and contributed to the identification and understanding of a number novel congenital immune diseases, with a focus on those affecting cytotoxic lymphocytes. Jordan has been recognized for these efforts with the 2009 Justin Daland Prize from the American Philosophical Society, election into the American Society for Clinical Investigation in 2010 and the American Pediatric Society in 2016 with which he was awarded the Norman J. Siegel Award. He is intensely committed to the future of pediatric investigation and directs the Pediatrician Scientist Training and Development Residency Program at Texas Children's Hospital.